Football, Philosophy and Fulfilling your Potential


No-one who’s ever read a motivational quote can be unaware of Vince Lombardi, legendary coach of the Green Bay Packers. But now we have someone new jogging onto the field: Bill Walsh, former head coach of the San Francisco 49ers.

The similarities between sport and business are legion – whether it’s building a winning team or dealing with your own emotions as owner, coach and head cheerleader.

Those similarities seem to be much more readily translated into books in the US (as a Newcastle fan, I await Steve McClaren’s book with interest…) and in The Score Takes Care of Itself, Walsh sets out his philosophy of leadership.

dtZp5XAq

If you’d like to read a shortened summary of his views, there’s a precis here on www.thought-management.com

There were two points in particular that struck me:

  • Deal appropriately with victory and defeat, adulation and humiliation. You can’t get crazy with victory: a loss cannot make you dysfunctional. That is, of course, an echo of Rudyard Kipling’s famous lines in If – and it applies to business every bit as much as it applies to sport. As Walsh says, “victory is not always within your control.” Business or sport, sometimes you’ll fail. But how you win or lose is within your control.
  • Secondly “promote internal communication that is both open and substantive.” In more simple terms, be open and talk to people: business, sport, or dealing with your children, that is a cardinal rule. It’s especially important when things aren’t going well: tough times are exactly the wrong time to pull the drawbridge up and retreat into yourself.

So much for Bill Walsh. But what the article really made me ask was, ‘What’s my philosophy?’

I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about this as I’ve driven round North Yorkshire over the last few days. I finally boiled it down to three key points:

  1. I want to set out a clear vision, and ensure that people buy into it. A key part of that is the ‘Why?’ In Simon Sinek’s words, “what’s the purpose, cause or belief that inspires you to do what you do?” (If you haven’t seen Sinek’s Ted talk on this, it’s excellent. Here’s the link.)

In turn, my vision – my ‘purpose, cause or belief’ – breaks down into three:

  • I want every business owner I work with to build a business that delivers what they want from life – for themselves, and for the people they care about
  • I want the business owners to reach their full potential – in business and in life. Marlon Brando once said: “I could’ve been a contender. I could’ve been somebody.” Whatever the business equivalent is, I don’t ever intend to hear it from one of my clients
  • Lastly, I want to be a force for good in the local business community and, more simply, in the local community itself

If I can deliver on those three then I know I’m going to be valued by clients and colleagues as someone who delivers real results and – just as importantly – as someone who’s enjoyable to work with.

Back to my wider philosophy…

  1. Surround yourself with great people. If I look around the TAB boardroom tables, the members who’ve been really successful over the past 12 months are the ones who’ve hired 9/10 talent, not 7/10 talent. That’s the one key reason I’d identify for their success. As one of my members said to me: “She’s changed my life, Ed. I worried about whether I could afford her salary. Now I see it as the best investment I ever made. She’s not only improved my business, she’s given me so much more free time. She’s improved my life.”
  2. Lastly – have fun. Yes, we all deliver serious benefits to our clients – but that doesn’t mean we can’t smile. Interestingly, I never believed the ‘have fun’ advice back in my corporate days – maybe I was having doubts about ‘corporate’ long before I admitted it to myself. But I absolutely do believe it now. As Robert Townsend so famously said: “If you’re not in business for profit or fun why are you here?”

That’s it for this week. Next week I’ll be publishing the blog by Wednesday: I know ‘read Ed’s blog’ has no hope of competing with ‘buy Easter eggs’ and ‘visit garden centre…’

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

