Make Good Art


This is blog post #99 and I’m feeling reflective. I’ve been reading a speech, thinking about creativity and pondering the importance of industrial flooring.

Let’s start with the speech. Here’s the link, and I commend it to you. The speech is by British author Neil Gaiman, and it’s his keynote speech to the University of the Arts from a couple of weeks ago. (If you haven’t heard of Neil Gaiman he writes horror, science fiction and dark fantasy and, trust me, has been seriously successful.)

His central point in the speech is simple: “Make good art.”

‘Hang on,’ you’re thinking. ‘What has art got to do with me? I’m a widget manufacturer. I run a proper business. Nothing to do with the arts.’

And on the surface, you’d be right. You might be a solicitor or an accountant: you might run a facilities management company; you might install industrial flooring – and on the surface, you’d be right. Art has nothing to do with you.

You might also feel a little bit resentful. All this money being poured into media centres. People calling themselves ‘creatives’ running around making bonfires out of their suits and ties, telling us that the only way the economy can be saved is to have more web designers and more social media consultants.

This is Yorkshire, damn it. Get out there and manufacture something.

Except that whatever you do, that’s your art.

I can’t sing, I can’t dance, I can’t draw, I can’t design. But I can advise someone on how to run their business: I can help them get the most out of their business and their personal life. That’s my art.

If you can re-structure a company’s cash flow; negotiate an employment contract; guarantee that an event for 2,000 people runs smoothly or make sure the hospital flooring is safe to walk on…that’s your art.

And now Neil Gaiman speaks to all of us. Because the messages he was giving to the students at the University of the Arts are the same messages that have run through this blog from the first post to the 99th post.

Get out there and make a start. Have faith in yourself. If you don’t believe – if you do it purely for the money – it probably won’t be successful. Make mistakes: just make sure you learn from them. Above all, be persistent: whatever your art is, “Make good art” and carry on making it. Here’s how Neil put it:

I’m serious. Husband runs off with a politician? Make good art. Leg crushed and then eaten by mutated boa constrictor? Make good art. IRS on your trail? Make good art. Cat exploded? Make good art. Somebody on the Internet thinks what you do is stupid or evil or it’s all been done before? Make good art. Probably things will work out somehow, and eventually time will take the sting away, but that doesn’t matter. Do what only you do best. Make good art.

Neil Gaiman finishes his speech with the best piece of advice he ever received – and is man enough to admit that he ignored it. He was signing books at a writers’ convention. The queue was enormous. Stephen King saw the queue and said to him, “This is really great. You should enjoy it.”

You should enjoy it – because the journey is what makes it all worthwhile. Ricky Gervais was on TV the other night. He was asked about the large pile of folding stuff now nestling snugly in his bank account. I forget his exact words: it was late, and I’d had a couple of Shiraz smoothies. But his point was simple: the journey – the hardships, the disappointments, the knock-backs – had made it worthwhile. If he’d won the lottery, it couldn’t have compared.

So at blog post #99 the message from me is as simple as it ever was. Whatever you do, ‘make good art.’ And above all, enjoy the journey.

15 comments

  1. Nice blog as usual Ed, always makes me contemplate where we are going, and where we have come from. Looking forward to your centurion contribution…. no pressure

    • edreidyork · May 25, 2012

      Hi Chris – the beauty of going for a century of blog posts is that it’s at least in my gift. Easier than trying for a century against the West Indies. I’m feeling a bit of pressure now on what I actually say next week!

  2. Mike Santopietro · May 25, 2012

    Brilliant Ed. When times are difficult we need the impetus to keep going so that when we come out on the other side we know how worthwhile it has been – and Ed, you are the man to help guide people through that tunnel. I too am looking forward to issue 100!

    • edreidyork · May 25, 2012

      Mike – thanks for your kind words! I’m glad the blogs are occasionally a source of good things! Have a great weekend, and keep the faith.

  3. JOHN B · May 25, 2012

    Ed, Mike in his first comment beat me to it, fabulous blog.

  4. Andy Gambles (@andygambles) · May 25, 2012

    Adding the odd ‘f’ could make this post very amusing.

    • edreidyork · May 25, 2012

      Andy – you’re one of the few business owners I know who would happily make a comment of that brilliance – keep them coming!!

  5. Sarah Shafi · May 28, 2012

    Agreed, (as I would with anything to do with Stephen King)…I absolutely love my journey…but perhaps my ‘art’ has caused me to feel somewhat p****d off at times when it hasn’t quite gone to plan.
    Does that make me a P*** Artist?

  6. Michelle Mook · May 31, 2012

    Thanks for the reminder Ed – we talk all the time about our passion for what we do and the journey of working towards our goals but sometimes forget to live it, learn from it and love it!

  7. Pingback: The Bloke that Won the Long Jump « EdReidYork's Blog
  8. Pingback: Stories, Simplicity and Parties | EdReidYork's Blog
  9. Pingback: You Never Get a Second Chance – to Make a Bad Impression | EdReidYork's Blog
  10. Pingback: Giving It All Away | EdReidYork's Blog
  11. Pingback: Greatest Hits: Volume 1 | EdReidYork's Blog
  12. Pingback: It’s the Hard Days… | EdReidYork's Blog

Leave a Reply

